

AUTHORITY/HISTORY

Louisiana's Accountability Commission was established by the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) in 2013 to advise BESE and the Louisiana Department of Education regarding matters involving school and district accountability. The Commission regularly makes accountability policy recommendations to BESE. In particular, it is responsible for working with BESE to make revisions under the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and to establish the timeline and benchmarks needed to gradually raise the standard for student proficiency such that the average student in a school or district with a letter grade of "A" achieves at least "mastery" on state assessments, per Bulletin 111 The Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability System.

2022 MEETING DATES

January 31

March 14

May 9

August 29

• Updated: July 25

• October 3

• Updated: September 12

• December 5

Updated: November 14

2023 MEETING DATES

- February 6
- March 27
- May 8
- July 31
- September 11
- November 6

MEMBERSHIP ROLES & APPOINTING AUTHORITIES

Chair: Patty Glaser (ex-officio)

LDOE Staff Contacts: Thomas Lambert, Emilia Urban

Role	Appointing Authority	Member	Title	Parish, School System, Organization
Charter School Representative	State Superintendent	Angela Beck	Superintendent	Redesign Schools Louisiana
LEA Administrator	BESE		Supervisor of Assessment, Accountability and Mathematics	Zachary Community School District
Postsecondary Ed Representative	BESE	Susannah Craig	Associate Commissioner for Teacher	Board of Regents

Last updated 07/20/2022





		I	and Leadership Initiatives	
			and Leadership initiatives	
Principal Representative	State Superintendent	Joseph David	Executive Director	Louisiana Association of Principals
Nonpublic School Representative	BESE	Kimberlee Gazzolo	Superintendent	Diocese of Lake Charles
Non-Voting Member	State Superintendent	Patty Glaser (chair, ex-officio)	CEO/Founding Head of School	Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy
Community Representative	BESE	Lauren Gleason	Director of Education & Workforce Development	Louisiana Association of Business & Industry
District Superintendent	State Superintendent	Kelli Joseph	Superintendent	St. Helena Parish
Parent	BESE	Norisha Kirts Glover	Parent	East Baton Rouge
Educator	BESE	Kylie Martin	7th grade science teacher	Bayou Blue Middle School (Lafourche Parish)
LAE Representative	Louisiana Association of Educators	Tia Mills	President	Louisiana Association of Educators
Community Representative	BESE	Brigitte Nieland	Government Affairs Director	Stand for Children LA
School Board Member	BESE	Chad Nugent	School Board Member	Jefferson Parish
LFT Representative	Louisiana Federation of Teachers	Cynthia Posey	Legislative and Political Director	Louisiana Federation of Teachers
Educator	State Superintendent	Carol Price	High School Math Teacher	East Baton Rouge
LEA Administrator	State Superintendent	Judy Vail	Accountability Coordinator	Calcasieu Parish
A+PEL Representative	Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana	Lee Ann Wall	State Past-President	Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana
Pupil Appraisal	State Superintendent	Lillian Holley	Director of Special Education	Bossier Parish School Board
LEA Representative	BESE	Serena White	District Supervisor	Monroe City Schools