

2018 LOUISIANA TEACHER + PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR

The Louisiana Department of Education is proud to announce the 2018 Teacher and Principal of the Year winners. These educators are making exceptional gains with students, pushing them to achieve at the highest levels in the state. Their commitment to student success exemplifies Louisiana's teaching profession.

The Teacher and Principal of the Year semi-finalists, finalists, and Louisiana's Milken Award winners were honored at the 11th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala in partnership with **Dream Teachers** on Friday, July 28, 2017.

Congratulations to these outstanding educators!

2018 OVERALL TEACHER OF THE YEAR



KIMBERLY ECKERT
West Baton Rouge Parish

Kimberly Eckert has been teaching in West Baton Rouge Parish for nine years. In addition to teaching English I at Brusly High School, she has also served as a special education inclusion teacher, a reading interventionist, speech teacher, mentor and master teacher, as well as an instructional coach. Eckert holds a Bachelor of Social Work, completed her teacher preparation program through LRCE and obtained a Master's Degree in Special Education from Northwestern State University. In 2016, Kimberly was named as the Louisiana Association of Computer Using Educators (LACUE) Teacher of the Year for high schools. Previously, she won the same award for middle schools, and in 2013, Kimberly was selected as the West Baton Rouge Parish Middle School Teacher of the Year for work as a special education teacher. Kimberly has been awarded several grants to further educational initiatives, is a Kagan Scholarship winner, a Discovery Star Educator, and has had student work showcased on local TV stations in Baton Rouge. Kimberly has presented at local and state conferences and has had work featured in LACUE publications on integrating technology for struggling learners in a flipped classroom.

2018 OVERALL PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR



THOMAS BYLER Vermilion Parish

Tommy Byler has been in the education field for 26 years and has served in various leadership capacities. He is a graduate of the University of Louisiana-Lafayette and received his Master's degree from the American College of Education. Currently, Tommy serves as the principal of North Vermilion High School, after previously serving as the school's assistant principal, athletic director, and head football coach. Additionally, Byler held roles in the Louisiana High School Athletic Association and the Louisiana Association of Student Councils. Prior to his administrative term, Tommy taught Biology II - Anatomy and Physiology, Physical Science, and Algebra I. While teaching, Tommy was selected twice to represent his school as Teacher of the Year. Under Byler's leadership as principal of North Vermillion High, the school has remained an A school, and the school's school performance score rose from a 92.9 to 119.0 over three years. Tommy holds teachers and students to high standards, while supporting and empowering all to succeed.

2018 TEACHER DIVISION WINNERS



ROSEMARY GRIMM Elementary - Bossier Parish



Middle - Lafourche Parish



ANGELINA DRAGO High - Tangiphahoa Parish

2018 PRINCIPAL DIVISION WINNERS



CLEO PERRY, JR. Elementary - East Baton Rouge



BOBBYE DELANEY Middle - Cameron Parish



DAVID GRAY High - Union Parish

2018 TEACHER OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



LORRAINE FEDISON-WINDER FirstLine Schools



BRENDA SIMMONS Jackson Parish



SARAH GROS Lafayette Parish



SARAH BUTLER Rapides Parish



JOSHUA JOHN DAVID PAUL St. Helena Parish

2018 PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



ELIZABETH CHATELAIN SHANNON FOOLKES **Evangeline Parish**



Calcasieu Parish



TWAINNA CALHOUN Ouachita Parish



SANDRA JONES Richland Parish



SARAH ALLEN St. Martin Parish

2018 TEACHER OF THE YEAR SEMI-FINALISTS

GRANT GUSSMAN Advocates for Academic Excellence in Education	CHASITY HATSFELT Allen Parish	MELISSA BLANCHARD Assumption Parish	JENNIFER HEARD Belle Chasse Academy	DONNA GRANGER Cameron Parish
SHANDA BESSON Central Community School District	ALEX BELL Collegiate Academies	JOHN UNDERWOOD East Baton Rouge Parish	BRITTANY SMITH Edward Hynes Charter School	MANDI KEIGLEY Iberia Parish
LANA MYERS Jefferson Davis Parish	TAMEKA STAR Natchitoches Parish	INGRID RACHAL Orleans Parish	JENNIFER BROCK St. John the Baptist Parish	RACHEL WHITE Webster Parish

2018 PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR SEMI-FINALISTS

MIA EDWARDS Ascension Parish	ANGELA GREGOIRE Assumption Parish	LAKESHA REESE-PENN City of Baker School District	ALLISON JUNOT Iberville Parish	MICHAEL BECK Jackson Parish
TAMARA WARNER Jefferson Parish	JOHN MOUTON Lafayette Parish	SHANNA STEED Livingston Parish	DEWAYNE VINES Rapides Parish	JULIE WAGUESPACK St. James Parish
DAWN CHAISSON St. Mary Parish	MARK TORBERT Terrebonne Parish	RHONDA ROBERTS Vernon Parish	LAREE TAYLOR West Baton Rouge Parish	DEBORAH BRIAN Zachary Community School District

2016 MILKEN EDUCATOR AWARD WINNERS



CATHERINE RANDALL
St. Bernard Parish



DEVON WILLIS-JONES
Iberia Parish



