

2019 LOUISIANA TEACHER + PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR

The Louisiana Department of Education is proud to announce the 2019 Teacher and Principal of the Year winners. These educators are making exceptional gains with students, pushing them to achieve at the highest levels in the state. Their commitment to student success exemplifies Louisiana's teaching profession.

The Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists, along with Louisiana's Milken Educator Award winners, will be celebrated at the <u>12th Annual Cecil. J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala</u> on Friday, July 27, 2018, at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge. This exciting event is co-sponsored by <u>Dream Teachers</u>.

Congratulations to these outstanding educators!

2019 OVERALL TEACHER OF THE YEAR



Spencer Kiper
Bossier Parish

Spencer Kiper is a native to Northwest Louisiana and serves as a STEM educator and advocate at Elm Grove Middle School in Bossier City, Louisiana. Mr. Kiper teaches middle school STEM enrichment to over 100 students and serves as an adjunct professor of education for Louisiana State University in Shreveport in the fields of Educational Technology and STEM Education. His passion for STEM education permeates the Shreveport/Bossier City area, and much of his free time is spent volunteering locally to build a stronger STEM and Cyber presence in his region. Mr. Kiper is an active volunteer and mentor in Civil Air Patrol, and was awarded the CAP National Aerospace Educator of the Year Award in 2016. Believing that leadership and advocacy in STEM education must begin at the grassroots level in education, Mr. Kiper is heading into his fourth full summer as a professional development specialist for the Space Academy for Educators program at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville, Alabama. As State Teacher of the Year, Spencer plans to model STEM instructional practices and inspire educators to engage industry and higher education at the classroom level to build a better future for our children.

2019 OVERALL PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR



Dr. Eric Davis
City of Monroe School District

Dr. Eric Davis is a 20-year educator in the Monroe City School District who currently serves as the Principal at Wossman High School. As principal, Dr. Davis strives to provide avenues and opportunities for students to perform academically, as well as envision themselves as candidates for post-secondary schooling. In his first year administration, Wossman's overall school performance score was a 68.1. Immediately, Eric determined a plan to grow students while also changing the mindsets of everyone who had a stake in the school. In one short year, Wossman grew 17.3 points, resulting in a school performance score of 85.4. In 2017-2018, Wossman was named as a becoming a Top Gains School and rated the #1 public high school in the state for growth. In addition to dispelling the stigma that kids who live in a poverty stricken area could not perform at high levels, Dr. Davis also works hard to influence the lives of young people so each can have agency over their own future. As State Principal of the Year, Dr. Davis plans to share a wealth of ideas on how to increase opportunities for students on the career or university track so that all kids fulfill their God given purpose.

2019 TEACHER DIVISION WINNERS



TASHA JOLIVETTE-JONES
Elementary School – Iberia Parish



KATHRYN M. FERGUSON Middle School - Caddo Parish



STEPHEN GOODLY High School - Orleans Parish

2019 PRINCIPAL DIVISION WINNERS



KIM CANEZARO
Elementary School - Pointe Coupee Parish



DR. HOLLY CASTILE
Middle School – Cameron Parish



MRS. VICTORIA MCMULLEN-DUNN High School - East Feliciana Parish

2019 TEACHER OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



SUSAN MINGEE Concordia Parish



CAITLIN MEEHAN-DRAPER FirstLine Schools



KEYRE' BRADFORD Lafayette Parish



ELIZABETH R. GREGORIE Richland Parish



KRISTEN D. BRUCE Vernon Parish

2019 PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



AMANDA MORRISON Grant Parish



CHRISTINA FONTENOT
Jefferson Davis Parish



PAM PRUDEN Lincoln Parish



RAMICA ROBINSON St. Landry Parish



RHONDA VACCARO Tangipahoa Parish

2019 TEACHER OF THE YEAR SEMI-FINALISTS

DARLA C. GIROIR

Assumption Parish

JOSHUA BEARD

Beauregard Parish

REGINA MANNING

Claiborne Parish

CHERYL WHITE DeSoto Parish

EMILY DEFOE

HEATHER DEMORUELLE Evangeline Parish

JESSICA SCHWALB

Jefferson Parish

JESSICA BONURA

Livingston Parish Sabine Parish

JULIA CAMPBELL

JENNIFER MALDONADO

St. Bernard Parish

East Baton Rouge Parish

MICHEL DELATTE

St. John the Baptist Parish HOLLIS WILSON-DAVIS

St. Mary Parish

SONYA GEORGE

Union Parish

JESSICA WALKER

West Feliciana Parish

SHINITA HONORA-BETHELY

Zachary Community School District

2019 PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR SEMI-FINALISTS

MELANIE CHAPMAN

Allen Parish

LORI CHARLET

Ascension Parish

DONNIE LOVE JR.

Beauregard Parish

JESSE SCOTT

Caddo Parish

AVA LEE FirstLine Schools

ADELINE Y. LOUPE

Iberville Parish

DARLENE TURNBULL
Jefferson Parish

KARA MASLING
LaSalle Parish

LISA VIGE

Ouachita Parish

JEMI L. CARLONE

Plaquemines Parish

MICHAEL KENNEDY

St. James Parish

DR. WANDA
JONES PHILLIPS
St. Martin Parish

JEANINE H. BARNES

St. Tammany Parish

CASANNAH MOSES

Terrebonne Parish

JOHNNY BOSLEY Vernon Parish

2017 MILKEN EDUCATOR AWARD WINNERS



ANGELA BOXIE
Lafayette Parish



THERESA CROSS
InspireNOLA



