

2020 LOUISIANA TEACHER + PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR

The Louisiana Department of Education is proud to announce the 2020 Teacher and Principal of the Year winners. These educators are making exceptional gains with students, guiding them to achieve at the highest levels in the state. Their commitment to student success exemplifies Louisiana's teaching profession.

The Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists, along with Louisiana's Milken Educator Award winner, were celebrated at the <u>13th Annual Cecil. J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala</u> on Friday, July 19, 2019, at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge. This exciting event is co-sponsored by <u>Dream Teachers</u>.

Congratulations to these outstanding educators!

2020 OVERALL TEACHER OF THE YEAR



Christopher Dier St. Bernard Parish

Christopher Dier teaches World History and Advanced Placement (AP) Human Geography at Chalmette High School. He is a proud product of the St. Bernard Parish public school system and the son of a longtime teacher. In his senior year of high school, Hurricane Katrina uprooted him to Texas, where he finished high school and attended East Texas Baptist University to study history, political science, and psychology. Later, Dier returned home and obtained two Master's degrees-one in education administration and one in teaching-from the University of New Orleans. Dier is dedicated to providing an equitable and multicultural education to all and is always seeking ways to develop as an educator. In 2016, Dier was selected as a Hollyhock Fellow at Stanford University, a program that brings educators together to work collectively toward creating more inclusive classrooms. In 2018, he completed an AP Summer Institute course at Fordham University, and he currently participates in a professional development program at Harvard Business School that focuses on case method teaching, in which he works to find solutions to real-world problems and challenges in the classroom. Dier has also been recognized as a "Distinguished Teacher" by the Delta Chapter of the American Petroleum Institute, and he has written a book on St. Bernard Parish that was published by the History Press.

2020 OVERALL PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR



Jennifer Dennis Carey Orleans Parish Jennifer Dennis Carey is the School Leader of KIPP East Community Primary in New Orleans, LA. She founded KIPP East in 2014, starting with a team of 10 dedicated educators and 100 kindergarten students. Under her leadership, the staff has grown to a team of 60, and the school now serves approximately 560 students in Pre-Kindergarten through 4th grade. Last year, KIPP East's first year to participate in state testing, LEAP 2025 results placed the school in the top 10 elementary schools in New Orleans, including selective enrollment schools. KIPP East was also recognized as a top-performing high-poverty school, meaning the school scored in the top 20 percent of Louisiana schools that serve a population of greater than 75 percent economically disadvantaged students. Before founding KIPP East, Carey began working with KIPP New Orleans 12 years ago as a 5th grade reading teacher, compelled to become part of the systemwide change that was occurring in the city. Previously, she worked for Teach for America and taught 2nd grade in the South Bronx in New York City. Carey received a bachelor's degree in political science from Emory University in Atlanta and a Master's degree in teaching from Pace University in New York City.

2020 TEACHER DIVISION WINNERS



JESSICA R. BORLAND Elementary School – Grant Parish



LISA CELESTINE JACK Middle School – Evangeline Parish



EMILY HARDY OGDEN High School – Richland Parish

2020 PRINCIPAL DIVISION WINNERS



LISA BURNS Elementary School – Bossier Parish



TAMIKA SORAPURU GREEN Middle School – St. Charles Parish



CARLI A. FRANCOIS High School – Ascension Parish

2020 TEACHER OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



LACEY D. BLOCKER Calcasieu Parish



AMANDA N. CRANE Claiborne Parish



BRITTANY LEGENDRE Lafourche Parish



ANNIE SMITH Lake Charles Charter Academy Foundation



JESSICA BREAUX Orleans Parish

2020 PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



BRAD THOMAS SOILEAU Allen Parish



S. CHAD SCHULZ Beauregard Parish



DR. CHRISTELLA DAWSON City of Monroe School District



GREGORY HAYDEN Livingston Parish



CHARLES WRIGHT Ouachita Parish

2020 TEACHER OF THE YEAR SEMI-FINALISTS

DAN OSGOOD Belle Chasse Academy	JUSTIN CRAIG OVERACKER City of Monroe School District	LORETTA PERRY- WOOTERS Community School for Apprenticeship Learning	SCARLETT WALKER DeSoto Parish	RAJASEKHAR YARRAGUNTLA East Carroll Parish
ALEJANDRA Z. WIGGERS Franklin Parish	JAMIE STAES Jefferson Parish	LAUREN LYNN DAIGLE SCHOEFFLER St. Landry Parish	HUNTER LANDRY St. Martin Parish	KATHLEEN CRANFORD Tangipahoa Parish
KRISTAL EIMER Terrebonne Parish	SHANE A. THEALL Vermilion Parish	DANELLE NASH Vernon Parish	EUNICE DIEGUEZ West Feliciana Parish	NATHAN MUNSELL Zachary Community School District
2	020 PRINCIPAI	OF THE YEAR	SEMI-FINALIST	5
NANCY B. ROUSSEAU Assumption Parish	MICHAEL ILGENFRITZ Caddo Parish	CATASHA NICOLE EDWARDS East Baton Rouge Parish	WILBERT GILBEAUX JR. Jefferson Davis Parish	TERRAH AVERETTE- HARRISON Jefferson Parish
JEFFREY DEBETAZ Lafayette Parish	RUSTY FARRAR Lincoln Parish	DR. REBECCA PIPPEN Rapides Parish	TENE' QUINONES LEACH Sabine Parish	TIFFANY FRANCIS St. Martin Parish
CHRISTOPHER R. OUFNAC St. Tammany Parish	RONALD J. FORET Terrebonne Parish	ANTHONY CAIN Union Parish	JESSICA LAMBERT MAJOR West Baton Rouge Parish	PENNY HALE West Carroll Parish

2018 MILKEN EDUCATOR AWARD WINNER



STEPHANIE WHETSTONE West Feliciana Parish

P.F.S. Berger



