Apr 30, 2012
Principals and Teachers to Be Recognized During Annual Celebration


BATON ROUGE, La. - Each summer, Louisiana recognizes a Teacher of the Year. And today 24 teachers learned they are regional finalists for the coveted state title.  These finalists, along with 15 Principal of the Year finalists, will be honored during the Sixth Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration in July, when Louisiana’s Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers and Principals of the Year are named, along with Louisiana’s 2013 Teacher of the Year. 


"These extraordinary finalists are a testament to principals and teachers across our state who are changing lives every day through their dedication, talent, and service to our children," State Superintendent of Education John White said.  "We want to congratulate these individuals, and we look forward to recognizing their success and celebrating the work of all our educators during the Symposium in July."


Principals and teachers are selected based on their leadership and teaching skills, respectively, as well as their dedication and respect of students, parents and colleagues; demonstrated school and community leadership; affiliations with educational organizations; ability to inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities; and their commitment to their profession. 


The selection process begins at the local level, where principals and teachers compete for the district title.  Based on the geographic location of the school district, district winners advance to one of eight regional competitions, where elementary, middle and high school finalists are selected.  The 24 regional teacher finalists named today and 15 principal finalists announced in February will now be interviewed by a state selection committee, which will make the final selections for the state elementary, middle and high school winners.  Additionally, Louisiana’s 2013 Teacher of the Year will advance to the National Teacher of the Year competition.


"We want to thank and commend these exemplary educators for their accomplishments and for their dedication to our children," Board of Elementary and Secondary Education President Penny Dastugue said.  "We applaud them and look forward to paying tribute to them and our entire education community later this summer." 


As in previous years, Mercedes Benz of Baton Rouge will award the Teacher of the Year a one-year lease to a brand new car.  Principal and teacher winners and regional finalists will also be awarded cash prizes, along with other donated prizes. 




Elementary School Level

Mendy Van Hoven - New Sarpy Elementary School, St. Charles Parish
Sabrina Dixon Jenkins - Highland Elementary School, East Baton Rouge Parish
Pamela Woods Hughes - Pecan Grove Primary School, Ascension Parish
Raegan E. Quebedeaux - North Elementary School, St. Landry Parish
Erica Guillory - R.W. Vincent Elementary School, Calcasieu Parish
Beth Thomas - Rosepine Elementary School, Vernon Parish
Bridget Wiley Bridges - J.L. Jones Elementary School, Webster Parish
Melissa Folsom Williams - Highland Elementary School, Ouachita Parish


Middle/Junior High School Level

Sandy Rockwell - Edward Hynes Charter School, Orleans Parish
Amanda Warren - Lake Harbor Middle School, St. Tammany Parish
Amy Crain - Dutchtown Middle School, Ascension Parish
June M. Bergeron - North Vermilion High School (Middle School Level), Vermilion Parish
Kristy Curlee - Hathaway High School (Junior High Level), Jefferson Davis Parish
Monica Alphonso - Anacoco Elementary School (Middle School Section), Vernon Parish
Afiya Code - Greenacres Middle School, Bossier Parish
Amy Lou Linder Weems - Ouachita Junior High School, Ouachita Parish


High School Level

Amanda Baudot - Hahnville High School, St. Charles Parish
Margaret Westmoreland - Walker High School, Livingston Parish
Tricia Prevost Corbin - South Terrebonne High School, Terrebonne Parish
Craig Wall - Northside High School, Lafayette Parish
Amanda Booth Bonney - LaGrange High School, Calcasieu Parish
Dewey Gladen Eaves, Jr. - Zwolle High School, Sabine Parish
Melanie Schweiger - Stanley High School, DeSoto Parish
Kyle Falting - Ruston High School, Lincoln Parish




Elementary School Level

Merlyna Valentine - St. Rose Elementary School, St. Charles Parish
Mary Jane Smith - Honey Island Elementary School, St. Tammany Parish
Niki Fryou - Hattie A. Watts Elementary School, St. Mary Parish
Anne D. Herrmann - Plantation Elementary School, Lafayette Parish
Elwin Brent Washington - Brentwood Elementary School, Calcasieu Parish


Middle/Junior High School Level

Shelly A. Colvin - Woodlawn Middle School, East Baton Rouge Parish
Lori Charlet - Gonzales Middle School, Ascension Parish
Bobby Badeaux - Edgar Martin Middle School, Lafayette Parish
Patricia Schooler - J.I. Watson Middle School, Calcasieu Parish
Judy R. Grooms - Emmett E. Cope Middle School, Bossier Parish


High School Level

Denise Carpenter - Riverdale High School, Jefferson Parish
Nanette B. McCann - Baton Rouge Magnet High School, East Baton Rouge Parish
Erica Merrick - West St. John High School, St. John the Baptist Parish
Laura LeBeouf - Kaplan High School, Vermilion Parish
Steve A. Thomas - Rosepine High School, Vernon Parish


# # # # # #