Mar 25, 2014

BATON ROUGE, La. – Eighteen students from across the state have been named regional finalists for the Louisiana Students of the Year award. The 18 regional finalists include one 5th grade, 8th grade, and 12th grade student from six regions and represent public and non-public elementary, middle, and high schools across Louisiana. These regional finalists and state winners for each of the three grades will be honored on April 16 during a ceremony at the Louisiana State Museum in Baton Rouge.

“Our future as a state depends on students who excel in the classroom and serve as a role model for others.  These students are not only superior students but have superior character and leadership abilities,” said State Superintendent of Education John White.  “Anytime we have the opportunity to reward the success of our students, it is as much a reward for me as it is for them.  I look forward to recognizing their accomplishments.”

Students are selected based on criteria that measure academic achievement, leadership skills, character, and service to their schools and communities. All public schools, as well as state-approved non-public schools, were asked to submit one candidate from their student body to compete at the district level. District-level winners advance to the regional competitions. Regional selection committees use portfolios of accomplishments created by each student, along with student writing samples and interviews, to assess the communication and critical-thinking skills of each candidate to name the regional finalists. Prior to selecting the three state winners, the state selection committee will conduct interviews and review a writing sample from each of the regional finalists.

The regional finalists are as follows:

Grade 5
Kevell Byrd, Luling Elementary School, St. Charles Parish
Mathilde Fox-Smith, Bains Elementary School, West Feliciana Parish
Emma Purifoy, A.E. Phillips Laboratory School, Lincoln Parish
Shelby Rambo, George Welch Elementary School, Ouachita Parish
Charles Roemer V, Our Lady of Mercy School, Diocese of Baton Rouge
Isabella Wade, Kinder Middle School, Allen Parish

Grade 8
Logan Berthelot, Brusly Middle School, West Baton Rouge Parish
Kerry Doyle, Calhoun Middle School, Ouachita Parish
Sunjay Letchuman, Caddo Middle Magnet School, Caddo Parish
Adeline Martin, Lacache Middle School, Terrebonne Parish
Marcus Shallow, Elton High School, Jefferson Davis Parish
Rebekah Travis, Mount Carmel Academy, Archdiocese of New Orleans

Grade 12
Faiz Alam, Lafayette High School, Lafayette Parish
Patrick Flanigan, Mandeville High School, St. Tammany Parish
Lauren Haigler, Airline High School, Bossier Parish
Kalin Larousse, Thibodaux High School, Lafourche Parish
Audrey Marsh, St. Joseph’s Academy, Diocese of Baton Rouge
Skylar Winters, West Monroe High School, Ouachita Parish

For more information on the state’s Students of the Year awards program, please click here.

# # # # # #