May 30, 2018

Overall State Winners to be Named at Celebration Ceremony on July 27 in Baton Rouge

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The Louisiana Department of Education today announced the finalists for the 2019 Teacher and Principal of the Year awards during the opening session of the annual Teacher Leader Summit. The 18 finalists are elementary, middle, and high school educators from school systems across the state. Winners will be selected from this group and announced at a celebration ceremony in July.

“It is my privilege to honor this outstanding group of educators from across the state,” said State Superintendent John White. “Every day, these teachers and principals inspire and encourage not only their students to learn and grow but also their entire school communities. We are grateful for their leadership, and we are proud to call them Louisiana educators.”

The 2019 Teacher of the Year finalists include:

Spencer Kiper

Bossier Parish

Elm Grove Middle School

Kathryn Ferguson

Caddo Parish

Youree Dr. Middle Advanced Placement Magnet School

Susan Mingee

Concordia Parish

Vidalia Lower Elementary School

Caitlin Meehan-Draper

FirstLine Schools

Samuel J. Green Charter School

Tasha Jolivette-Jones

Iberia Parish

Coteau Elementary School

Keyre' Bradford

Lafayette Parish

Ridge Elementary School

Stephen Goodly

Orleans Parish

Warren Easton Senior High School

Elizabeth Gregorie

Richland Parish

Mangham High School

Kristen Bruce

Vernon Parish

Pickering High School

The 2019 Principal of the Year finalists include:

Holly Castile

Cameron Parish

Grand Lake High School

Eric Davis

City of Monroe School District

Wossman High School

Victoria McMullen

East Feliciana Parish

East Feliciana High School

Amanda Morrison

Grant Parish

Grant High School

Christina Fontenot

Jefferson Davis Parish

Lacassine High School

Pam Pruden

Lincoln Parish

Dubach School

Kim Canezaro

Pointe Coupee Parish

Valverda Elementary School

Ramica Robinson

St. Landry Parish

Krotz Springs Elementary School

Rhonda Vaccaro

Tangipahoa Parish

Roseland Montessori

This year, school systems submitted about 300 nominations for Teacher and Principal of the Year. The Department named 48 semifinalists in April 2018. A state team then narrowed that pool to the 18 finalists named today. Those finalists will soon participate in face-to-face interviews with state selection committees led by community and education leaders. The selection committees, comprised of past Teachers and Principals of the Year, representatives of educator associations, business groups, and others will ultimately choose the state division-level and overall winners.

All Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists will be honored, and the overall state-level winners will be announced at the 12th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration on Friday, July 27, 2018, at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge. The event is co-sponsored by Dream Teachers, a nonprofit organization that partners with businesses, industry representatives, and organizations throughout the state to recognize and reward educators, who model instructional excellence and dedication to serve the needs of children.