Jan 12, 2023
Margaret Moe of Baton Rouge and James Stratton of Shreveport selected to participate in Senate Youth Program and receive $10,000 scholarship

(BATON ROUGE, LA) - The United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) announced that high school students Margaret Catherine Moe and James Frank Stratton will join Senator Bill Cassidy, MD and Senator John N. Kennedy in representing Louisiana during the 61st annual USSYP Washington Week, to be held March 4-11. Margaret Moe of Baton Rouge and James Stratton of Shreveport were selected from among the state’s top student leaders to be part of the 104 national student delegation. Each delegate will also receive a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study.

“This is truly a once in a lifetime opportunity and I’m proud to have these young leaders represent Louisiana at our nation’s capital,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Cade Brumley. “They will get an inside look at American government and develop an even deeper appreciation for our country.”

This extremely competitive merit-based program provides the most outstanding high school students - two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity - with an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each student with a $10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs.

During the program week, the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with senators, the president, a justice of the Supreme Court, and leaders of cabinet agencies, among others.
Margaret Moe, a senior at St. Joseph's Academy, serves as a representative of Louisiana in the Youth Governors Association. She also serves as president of the Science Club and vice president of the Youth and Government campus organizations. She is an accomplished powerlifting athlete for her school, as well as a State Board officer for Louisiana Model United Nations. Her ability to lead and serve is also evidenced by her prolonged involvement as a school ambassador, and with community service organizations such as Habitat for Humanity, Salvation Army, and the Missionaries of Charity. She has earned an AP Scholar recognition and participated in state and international science fairs for her research in cancer tumor formation and cell culture. Moe plans to pursue an undergraduate degree in chemical or biological engineering and political science, with a public policy and research career ambition at the Centers for Disease Control, United Nations, or World Health Organization.

James Stratton, a senior at C. E. Byrd High School, serves as the Student Council president. In his roles as a school ambassador and member of the Louisiana Legislative Youth Advisory Council, he has demonstrated strong leadership skills as well as athletic prowess as the starting center on the school football team. This National Merit Semifinalist has received the recognition of being an AP Scholar with Distinction and will receive an AP Capstone diploma endorsement upon graduation. Stratton maintains an impressive academic record with a keen interest in political science and law. He aspires to attend law school and later pursue a political career as a legislator or judge.

Chosen as alternates to the 2023 program were Edward Carter Mayeux, a resident of Baton 
Rouge, who attends Catholic High School of Baton Rouge and Brinley Belle Pethe, a resident of Metairie, who attends Haynes Academy of Advanced Studies.

Delegates and alternates are selected by the state departments of education nationwide and the  District of Columbia and Department of Defense Education Activity, after nomination by teachers and principals. For more information,  visit ussenateyouth.org.